Committees & Agenda Items

- 6th Committee -

6th Head of States' Committee (HOSC)

Agenda item: The Decisions to be Taken Regarding the Sovereignty and Legitimacy of Germany/Germanies
Year: 1990
USG: Dilanaz Güler
Study Guide: Coming Soon
     It's 1990, and the situation in Germany is very complicated. The Berlin Wall fell only a year ago, and the region is very unstable. It seems like there might be a possible reunification. Currently, West Germany is economically more powerful than East Germany, and the protests occurring in the region are mostly in favor of the West and against the Soviet Union and the socialist states. Therefore, it seems like a possible reunification will lead to an ideologically capitalist Western Germany. But of course, it is hard to foresee the future; the discussions in the committee might lead to unexpected conclusions. The Head of States' will come to compromise, and the future of Germany/Germanies is all up to their skills of negotiation.
     Now, it is up to the Head of States' to decide upon whether they are going to follow the path of history, or draw a path of their own. The performance of the Head of States will shape the flow of the committee. The BHMUN'20 Team will shape their crises in accordance with the flow.
Country list:
     1. President George Herbert Walker Bush – United States of America (USA)
     2. President Mikhail Sergeyevich Gorbachev – Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR)
     3. Prime Minister Margaret Hilda Thatcher – United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (UK)
     4. President François Maurice Adrien Marie Mitterrand – French Republic
     5. President Yang Shangkun – People’s Republic of China (PRC)
     6. General Secretary of the Socialist Unity Party of Germany Egon Rudi Ernst Krenz - German Democratic Republic (East Germany)
     7. President Richard Karl Freiherr von Weizsäcker - Federal Republic of Germany (West Germany)
     8. President Wojciech Witold Jaruzelski - Republic of Poland
     9. President Slobodan Milošević - Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia
     10. President Václav Havel - Czechoslovakia
     11. President Kurt Josef Waldheim – Republic of Austria
     12. Federal Council Arnold Koller – Swiss Confederation
     13. Prime Minister Poul Holmskov Schlüter – Kingdom of Denmark
     14. Prime Minister Rudolphus Franciscus Marie – Kingdom of Netherlands
     15. Prime Minister Wilfried Achiel Emma Martens - Kingdom of Belgium
     16. President Ion Iliescu – Republic of Romania
     17. President Turgut Özal – Republic of Turkey
     18. Prime Minister Felipe González Márquez - Kingdom of Spain
     19. President Petar Toshev Mladenov – People’s Republic of Bulgaria
     20. President Árpád Göncz - Republic of Hungary
     21. President Christos Sartzetakis - Hellenic Republic (Greece)
     22. Prime Minister Jacques Louis Santer - Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
     23. Prime Minister Gösta Ingvar Carlsson - Kingdom of Sweden