Committees & Agenda Items

- 4th GA Committee -

4th GA Committee: Special Political and Decolonization (SPECPOL)

Agenda items:
     1. Stabilizing the Situation in Post-Soviet States
     2. Ensuring Global Stability by Increasing Nuclear Transparency of Member States Holding Nuclear Weapons
Year: 1992
USG: Berkan Seymen
Study Guide: Coming Soon
     The fourth committee of the UN General Assembly, SPECPOL, deals with a wide variety of issues such as decolonization, human rights, peacekeeping, mine action, outer space, public information, and nuclear stability. Just like every other UN committee, the ultimate goal of SPECPOL is to ensure global peace and stability.
     The committee of SPECPOL will be meeting after the fall of the USSR in 1992. Out of the republics that have declared their independence from the Soviet Union, some are in highly unstable situations. It is possible that Civil Wars might occur if no step is taken to prevent them. These Civil Wars might lead to the deaths of tens of thousands of people; therefore, immediate action is required. Other than these possible Civil Wars, another issue that can lead to a massive number of deaths is the issue of nuclear weapons. SPECPOL needs to encourage member states holding nuclear weapons to increase their transparency on the topic of nuclear weapons because if there is not nuclear transparency, nobody will know if or even when nuclear war is coming.
     Now, it is up to the delegates to decide upon what they are going to do, follow the path of history, or draw a path of their own. The delegates' performance will shape the flow of the committee, and the BHMUN'20 Team will shape their crises in accordance with the flow.
Country list:
     1. United States of America (USA)
     2. Russian Federation
     3. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (UK)
     4. French Republic
     5. People's Republic of China (PRC)
     6. Federal Republic of Germany
     7. Republic of Estonia
     8. Republic of Latvia
     9. Republic of Lithuania
     10. Ukraine
     11. Republic of Kazakhstan
     12. Republic of Turkey
     13. Republic of Belarus
     14. Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia
     15. Republic of Armenia
     16. Republic of Azerbaijan
     17. Republic of Cuba
     18. Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK)
     19. Republic of Korea (South Korea)
     20. Republic of Uzbekistan
     21. Republic of India
     22. Islamic Republic of Pakistan
     23. Republic of Poland